American Council for Accredited Certification

Find Certificants

Hire ACAC-certified Professionals

Verify Certification

Moisture Control Remediation and Consulting


CMCC Logo Find a CMCC

Council-certified Moisture Control Consultant (CMCC)

Required: 8 years experience consulting on moisture control issues in the built environment


CMCI LogoFind a CMCI

Council-certified Moisture Control Investigator (CMCI)

Required: 2 years experience investigating moisture issues in the built environment


CMCI LogoFind a CRMA

Council-certified Moisture Control Investigator (CRMA)

Required: current employment investigating moisture issues in the built environment


Program Summary:

The Council-certified Moisture Control Investigator (CMCI) and the Council-certified Moisture Control Consultant (CMCC) conduct moisture investigations and assessments in all types of buildings.  They apply knowledge of building sciences, moisture behavior and structural drying to locate the source, identify the cause, or specify the mitigation of moisture problems involving the design, construction and/or maintenance of the built environment. 

A CMCI or CMCC possesses verified knowledge of the moisture control field. The CMCC and CMCI certification exams cover the most respected reference texts in the industry. Candidates must know the important industry standards. They must be familiar with scientific principles governing moisture control in the design, construction and maintenance phases of a building's life. They must understand the most common practices and protocols used by investigators and contractors, as they are often involved in specifying remediation, mitigation and repair work.

A CMCI or CMCC possesses verified experience in moisture control investigation and consulting in settings like these:

To earn the Council-certified Moisture Control Investigator (CMCI) or Council-certified Moisture Control Consultant (CMCC) designations, candidates must:



Restoration and Remediation:

ACAC offers restoration industry certifications and contractor certifications such as mold contractor certifications, indoor air quality certifications, water damage certifications, fire and water restoration certifications; structural drying certifications, moisture control certifications, and thermography certifications.

Administration and Management:

ACAC offers emergency management certifications and indoor air quality management certifications.

Investigation and Consulting:

ACAC offers mold inspector certifications, indoor air quality certifications, environmental certifications, infection control certifications, thermography certifications, and fire and smoke certifications.


"Thank you. I really appreciate your patience and willingness to help me through the process. I am very grateful that the Council is so diligent. The stakes are high and anything less would not be helping any of us, or the public we try to help." -- Signed RM
Did you know that ACAC requires 40 hours of verified professional development for every two-year recertification?
ACA accepts VISA and MasterCard ACAC accepts American Express

25 ACAC certification programs are accredited by the Council of Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB). 
All ACAC examinations are compliant with standards published by APA, AERA and NCME.