American Council for Accredited Certification

Get Certified

Apply for Certification

Qualify for State Licenses

New York

New York Mold Law (Senate Bill S3667D-2013)

Signed by NY Governor Cuomo on January 29, 2015

When it goes into effect in July 2015, the New York Mold Law will require a state license of all mold assessors and remediators.  Eligibility for the state license is limited to those who "(a) are eighteen years of age or older; (b) have satisfactorily completed Department of Labor-approved course work, including training on the appropriate use and care of personal protection equipment as approved by the Commissioner of the Department of Health; and (c) have paid the appropriate fees."

Click here to read the full text of the New York Mold Law.

Click here to find out more about the New York mold license program.


New York Assembly Bill A01466 (2011)

Introduced in January 2011, Assembly Bill A01466 is entitled "An act to amend the public housing law, the public health law, and the real property law, in relation to the remediation and prevention of indoor mold and requiring the disclosure of indoor mold history upon the sale of certain real property."

The bill is designed to create standards and practices for the handling of indoor mold in both real property and public housing. It includes three specific provisions: 

Click here to read official summaries or a full text version of Assembly Bill A01466.


New York Public Health Law Section 1384 (2005)

Article 13, Title 11-A, Section 1384 of the Laws of New York was enacted in 2005.  The law created the New York Toxic Mold Task Force with the following responsibilities:

(a) assess, based on scientific evidence, the nature, scope and magnitude of the adverse environmental and health impacts caused by toxic mold in the state;

(b) measure, based on scientific evidence, the adverse health effects of exposure to molds on the general population, including specific effects on subgroups identifiable as being at greater risk of adverse health effects when exposed to molds;

(c) identify actions taken by state, and local governments, and other entities;

(d) assess the latest scientific data on exposure limits to mold in indoor environments;

(e) determine methods for the control of mold in a cost-effective and environmentally sound manner and identify measures to mitigate mold; and

(f) prepare a report to the governor and the legislature that assesses the current body of knowledge on toxic mold, provides the status of toxic mold in the state, and assesses the feasibility of any further actions to be taken by the legislature or state agencies as recommended by the task force.

The Task Force released its Draft Report in December 2010. 

Click here to read the law in its entirety

Click here to read the Task Force Report


"I look forward to the designation, definitely tougher to get than when one of my technicians got it several years ago." -- Signed CC
Did you know that the state of Maryland requires ACAC certification as a prerequisite for its mold license?
ACA accepts VISA and MasterCard ACAC accepts American Express

*  The CIEC and CMC programs are dual-accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA)
    and the Council for Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB).
* 18 other ACAC programs are accredited by the Council of Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB).
*  ACAC examinations are compliant with standards published by APA, AERA and NCME.
*  ACAC is a member of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence (ICE), formerly known as NOCA.