American Council for Accredited Certification

Find Certificants

Hire ACAC-certified Professionals

Verify Certification

Find Certificants
Residential Mold Inspections

CMC Logo
 Find a CRMI

Council-certified Residential Mold Inspector
Required: 2 years experience as a home inspector or licensed pest control operator

Program Summary:

A Council-certified Residential Mold Inspector (CRMI) locates and identifies mold as part of a home inspection. A CRMI conducts a mold inspection using industry standard sampling techniques and verifies the presence or absence of mold contamination. A CRMI provides an efficient screening to clear a property of microbial issues. A CRMI's report is therefore an important part of a real estate transaction.

A CRMI does not perform mold remediation. When mold contamination is present, a CRMI can recommend a certified professional to develop and execute a mold remediation protocol. A CRMI has verified knowledge of standards and sampling techniques used in real estate transactions.

The CRMI examination covers standards published by the Indoor Environmental Standards Organization (IESO), an ANSI-accredited standards body. All candidates for the CRMI must demonstrate intensive knowledge of IESO standards governing mold inspection and home inspection.

To maintaint the Council-certified Residential Mold Inspector (CRMI) designation, certificants must:


The CRMI certification is accredited by the Council for Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB), a nationally recognized independent accreditation body. ACAC certifications are the ONLY designations in the indoor air quality field to earn CESB accreditation.

The CRMI designation is fully supported by ACAC but is no longer offered to new candidates. 

"In this day and age, it's a real pleasure to interact with someone as efficient and professional as you obviously are - sincere thanx for prompt, hassle-free attention to my issue." -- Signed DJ
Did you know that ACAC requires 40 hours of verified professional development for every two-year recertification?
ACA accepts VISA and MasterCard ACAC accepts American Express

*  The CIEC and CMC programs are dual-accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA)
    and the Council for Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB).
* 18 other ACAC programs are accredited by the Council of Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB).
*  ACAC examinations are compliant with standards published by APA, AERA and NCME.
*  ACAC is a member of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence (ICE), formerly known as NOCA.