American Council for Accredited Certification

About ACAC

History and Governance

Program Operations

About ACAC
CESB and NCCA Accreditation

What Does Accreditation Mean?

The ACAC operates CESB-accredited and NCCA-accredited certification programs for professionals in indoor air quality and related fields. What does it mean to be accredited?

Third Party Approval

Accreditation is the independent testimony of a third-party observer that an organization's program is developed and operated in compliance with nationally recognized standards.

The Council of Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB), founded in 1991, has established a national reputation for accrediting certification programs in engineering and science-related fields.  The National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA), founded in 1989, likewise enjoys a national reputation as an independent accrediting body for professional certification programs.

ACAC offers the only programs dedicated to the field of indoor air quality to achieve CESB and/or NCCA accreditation:

High Standards

In order to qualify for CESB or NCCA accreditation, a certification program must meet high standards of program operation:

ACAC offers the only CESB and/or NCCA accredited designations dedicated to the field of indoor air quality. Though its board-awarded designations meet all these requirements and more, the same cannot be said of many other professional certification programs. Other organizations allow office staffers to grant certification in exchange for payment of fees and passing a simple examination based on a mandatory course with limited information. Field experience is rarely required, much less verified. As a result, "instant certifications" from such organizations are nearly worthless when challenged in court.

"Just wanted to say THANK YOU, for your help in processing the paperwork for my CIEC certification. I could not have done it without you; I am now a proud CIEC, again thank you for everything." -- Signed AA
Did you know that accredited ACAC certifications require verified field experience?
ACA accepts VISA and MasterCard ACAC accepts American Express

*  The CIEC and CMC programs are dual-accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA)
    and the Council for Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB).
* 18 other ACAC programs are accredited by the Council of Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB).
*  ACAC examinations are compliant with standards published by APA, AERA and NCME.
*  ACAC is a member of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence (ICE), formerly known as NOCA.